2015 Formula One Grand Prix calendar and technical regulations

Published : 11/13/2014 09:42:50
Categories : Wryst Latest News

All you need to know about the

2015 Formula One Grand Prix season.

Mercedes will be the defending World Constructors' Champions.


The 2015 Formula One season will be the 66th season of the Formula One World Championship, a motor racing championship for Formula One cars which is recognised by the sport's governing body, the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile, as the highest class of competition for open-wheel racing cars. Twenty drivers representing ten teams will contest twenty Grands Prix, starting in Australia on 15 March and ending in Abu Dhabi on 29 November as they compete for the World Drivers' and World Constructors' Championships. Mercedes will begin the season as the defending Constructors' Champions, having secured their first championship title at the 2014 Russian Grand Prix.


Signed teams and drivers

The following teams and drivers are currently signed to take part in the 2015 Formula One World Championship. Following crippling financial problems which forced Caterham to miss the 2014 United States and Brazilian Grands Prix, their entry in the 2015 season was cast into doubt; however, a provisional entry list that was released in November 2014 included the team.


New entries process

In December 2013, the FIA announced its intentions to open the grid up to more entries, asking for expressions of interest from what it dubbed "competitive teams" willing to commit to the championship until the 2020 season. Three applications were received, including a bid from Gene Haas, co-owner of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series team Stewart-Haas Racing; an entry submitted from Romania, and run in conjunction with former Jordan, Midland, Spyker, Force India and HRT manager Colin Kolles; and a third from Zoran Stefanović, a Serbian aerospace engineer who had previously attempted to join the grid for the 2010 and 2011 Formula One seasons under the name Stefan Grand Prix. The bidding process was delayed amidst reports that the FIA had only been looking to add one team to the grid, but that the first two bids were equally viable. Haas' entry, Haas F1, was the successful candidate,but Haas later deferred his entry until the 2016 season. Bernie Ecclestone announced the Romanian entry—named as Forza Rossa Racing—had been accepted independently of Haas, but the team was not included on provisional entry list for the 2015 season.


Team Changes

  • Honda will return to Formula One as an engine supplier, providing McLaren with a V6 engine and Energy Recovery System package, ending the team's twenty-year partnership with Mercedes-Benz. Honda had previously supplied McLaren from 1988 until 1992, when Honda ended their engine supply program. The company returned to the sport as an engine supplier in 2000, providing British American Racing and Jordan Grand Prix with engines until they purchased the former in 2006 and competed as a constructor until 2008. The project stems from the continued development of the Honda RA109 chassis—the successor to the Honda RA108 and sister chassis to the Brawn BGP 001—after the team was sold to Brawn GP in 2009.
  • Lotus will change engine suppliers, ending their association with Renault in favour of a deal with Mercedes.
  • Following the 2014 Russian Grand Prix, Marussia went into administration, missing the final three races of the 2014 season. The team briefly appeared on the provisional entry list under the name "Manor F1",but in November 2014, administrators announced that the team would cease trading and close down.


Season calendar

The following twenty Grands Prix are currently scheduled to take place in 2015.


Grand Prix




Australian Grand Prix


Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne

15 March


Malaysian Grand Prix


Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur

29 March


Bahrain Grand Prix


Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir

5 April


Chinese Grand Prix


Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai

19 April


Spanish Grand Prix


Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona

10 May


Monaco Grand Prix


Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo

24 May


Canadian Grand Prix


Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal

7 June


Austrian Grand Prix


Red Bull Ring, Spielberg

21 June


British Grand Prix

United Kingdom

Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone

5 July


German Grand Prix


Nürburgring, Nürburg

19 July


Hungarian Grand Prix


Hungaroring, Budapest

26 July


Belgian Grand Prix


Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot

23 August


Italian Grand Prix


Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza

6 September


Singapore Grand Prix


Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore

20 September


Japanese Grand Prix


Suzuka Circuit, Suzuka

27 September


Russian Grand Prix


Sochi Autodrom, Sochi

11 October


United States Grand Prix

United States

Circuit of the Americas, Austin, Texas

25 October


Mexican Grand Prix


Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City

1 November


Brazilian Grand Prix


Autódromo José Carlos Pace, São Paulo

15 November


Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

United Arab Emirates

Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi

29 November

Calendar changes

  • The German Grand Prix is set to return to the Nürburgring, in accordance with the event-sharing agreement established between the Nürburgring and the Hockenheimring in 2008. The Nürburgring had previously hosted the race in 2013.
  • The Mexican Grand Prix is scheduled to return to the Formula One calendar for the first time since 1992. The race is to be held at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez circuit located in the centre of Mexico City, which also was the location of all of the Mexican Grands Prix in previous decades. The circuit will be substantially reconfigured to accommodate the sport's return.


Technical regulations

  • The number of power units that a driver may use in a season will be reduced from five in 2014 to four in 2015.
  • The rules regarding the points-trading system for engine development that were introduced in 2014 will change, with the manufacturers allowed to perform half the development permitted in 2014; the development will be halved again in 2016.
  • Following the backlash over "ugly" nose designs in 2014, the FIA moved to amend the rules surrounding nose designs for the 2015 season. Noses will now be lower than in 2014, retaining a minimum cross section, but they must taper to a point at a fixed linear rate, effectively outlawing the dramatic finger shapes seen in 2014 in favour of a more gradual shape. Furthermore, the design of the nose must be symmetrical and consistent with the centreline of the car, thereby banning the more exotic designs, such as the "twin-tusk" approach used by Lotus on the E22 chassis.

Sporting regulations

  • The procedure for restarting a race after the safety car has been deployed will change in 2015. Instead of the traditional single-file rolling restart with the pace controlled by the race leader, the drivers will return to the starting grid for a standing restart controlled by the race director. The exception will be if the race is in the last five laps, in which case a rolling restart will be used.

The partial ban on pit-to-car communication introduced at the 2014 Singapore Grand Prix will be extended to include a blanket ban on sharing technical data between team and driver, such as specific fuel consumption settings.

Share this content

Add a comment




Hello. I need to contact admin. Thank you.